News Details

Permanent Numbers: The Choices

2013 was the final season for F1’s current number system, with drivers now being given permanent digits for the entirety of their careers in the sport. The FIA announced the new regulation earlier this month before it was later added to next year’s regulations. Number one will be reserved for the champion, should he want to use it, and the remainder of the grid have been left to choose their preferred option between two and 99. Also, they must now be clearly visible on the car as well as being positioned on the driver’s helmet as well. It has created a new off-track battle over the winter break, with drivers’ first submitting three options to motorsport’s governing body. The...
Full Story »
4mo ago from 0

You May Also Be Interested In...

Raikkonen picks number 7, Bottas picks 77

Drivers are spending the last days before Christmas coming up with the...
4mo ago from

Raikkonen keen to secure number 7 for rest of his...

Raikkonen keen to secure number 7 for rest of his career 16 December,...
4mo ago from

Drivers begin number selection

Getty Images Enlarge Drivers have started revealing the selections they...
4mo ago from

The legend of number 27 in the history of Formula 1

The legend of number 27 in the history of Formula 1 16 December, 2013...
4mo ago from


comments powered by Disqus

Hottest News

Montezemolo makes more changes at Ferrari

Luca di Montezemolo has ordered Ferrari to 'step... Read More »
15h ago from

Red Bull tells rivals to shove Mercedes star

Reigning world champions Red Bull have told... Read More »
19h ago from

Mercedes: 'We don't want to win all 19 races'

In a rather odd admission, Mercedes chairman Niki... Read More »
10h ago from

Recent News

2014 is not responsible for the news headlines and associated descriptions and images it indexes, the content of externally linked sites or the comments & postings of its users.

This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula One group of companies. F1, FORMULA ONE, FORMULA 1, FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V.