News Details

Opinion: Improving the 'double points' situation

Win this one in 2014 and you get 50 points. Red Bull/Getty Images The introduction of double points for the final round of a Formula 1 season was met with universal backlash from fans of the sport. It was the answer to a question which no-one had posed.  Nobody saw it coming. It came about, of course, as a ploy to keep the championship fight alive for longer and in turn increase Formula 1’s revenue – more interest, more money. But naturally those with an ounce of common sense were quick to point out the obvious. Yes, the 2013 season ended with a whimper after the Sebastian Vettel and Red Bull roadshow kicked into action. The reaction of the majority was to congratulate that particular...
Full Story »
9mo ago from 0

You May Also Be Interested In...

Ecclestone pushing for more double points races

Bernie Ecclestone has written a letter to all 11 Formula 1 teams asking...
9mo ago from

Wolff: We did not expect the sh!tstorm we got after...

Wolff: We did not expect the sh!tstorm we got after double points was...
9mo ago from

Massive drop in 2013 TV audience triggered double...

Massive drop in 2013 TV audience triggered double points rule 3 February,...
9mo ago from

Ecclestone devised double points to help Ferrari

Luca di Montezemolo agreed behind closed doors that the controversial...
9mo ago from


comments powered by Disqus

Hottest News

Alonso's new deal 'long-term'

Fernando Alonso has revealed he's made a... Read More »
11h ago from

Reports link Brawn, Costa, Bottas with Ferrari

The latest names linked with Ferrari are Ross... Read More »
21h ago from

Recent News

2014 is not responsible for the news headlines and associated descriptions and images it indexes, the content of externally linked sites or the comments & postings of its users.

This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula One group of companies. F1, FORMULA ONE, FORMULA 1, FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V.