News Details

F1 1974: McLaren Man Wins After Year Long Battle

Following the retirement of Jackie Stewart after securing the last of his three World Drivers’ Championships the battle to succeed him in 1974 was wide open. In one of the most competitive seasons in Formula One history seven different drivers, from five different teams, won races over the course of the 15 Grand Prix. Stewart’s retirement and the tragic events of the 1973 United States Grand Prix which took Francois Cevert gave the Tyrrell team an all-new driver line for the season. To fill the void Tyrrell brought in Patrick Depailler and Jody Scheckter, a pair of drivers who had only eight F1 starts between them. Scheckter had entered five races with the McLaren team the previous...
Full Story »

You May Also Be Interested In...

2014 season is wide open - Raikkonen

Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari driver Kimi Raikkonen believes that the 2014...
9mo ago from

Hamilton: 'I'm equipped with the tools I need to...

Lewis Hamilton believes he has the car to succeed in 2014 and is 'more...
9mo ago from

No fifth world title for Vettel in 2014 predicts...

No fifth world title for Vettel in 2014 predicts Villeneuve 10 March,...
9mo ago from

Button targeting wins this year with McLaren

Button targeting wins this year with McLaren 13 March, 2014 Jenson Button...
9mo ago from


comments powered by Disqus

Hottest News

Formula 1 set for another engine revolution in 2016

Formula 1 is now speeding towards yet another new... Read More »
14h ago from

New F1 engine regulations coming in 2016

Bernie Ecclestone has revealed that Formula One... Read More »
3h ago from

Tech Analysis: The secrets behind Sebastian Vettel's...

William Tyson approaches Sebastian Vettel's 2014... Read More »
16h ago from

Recent News

2014 is not responsible for the news headlines and associated descriptions and images it indexes, the content of externally linked sites or the comments & postings of its users.

This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula One group of companies. F1, FORMULA ONE, FORMULA 1, FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V.