News Details

Alexander Albon to use 23 as permanent number in F1

Toro Rosso rookie Alexander Albon is to sport 23 as his permanent number in Formula 1. Under a revised system introduced in 2014 each driver selects a number between 2 and 99 to carry throughout their career in the championship. Number 1 is reserved for the reigning World Champion, should they wish to take it, while 17 was retired from use in the wake of Jules Bianchi’s death. Last month’s entry list confirmed the numbers of several 2019 newcomers or returnees. McLaren rookie Lando Norris was down as 4, Williams pair George Russell and Robert Kubica chose 63 and 88 respectively, while Sauber’s Antonio Giovinazzi plumped for 99. Albon, having only been signed by Toro Rosso...
Full Story »

You May Also Be Interested In...

Albon chooses legendary number 23

Thai rookie Alexander Albon clearly has an eye on superstardom as he has...
4y ago from

Albon goes with iconic number 23

Alexander Albon has chosen the #23 for his rookie Formula One season with...
4y ago from

Schumacher was never on Toro Rosso's radar

Red Bull motorsport advisor Helmut Marko, has denied a bid was made to...
4y ago from

Latifi set to remain in DAMS for 2019 Formula 2 season

Nicholas Latifi is set to remain with Formula 2 team, DAMS for a third...
4y ago from

Elsewhere On The Network

Popular On

Popular On

McLaren completes IndyCar livery unveils

The McLaren IndyCar Team has completed its 2023 livery unveils with the...
1d ago from

Popular On

Rally1 manufacturers to contest national rally events

The three major Rally1 teams are going to run their cars in national rally...

Popular On


Hottest News

Recent News

2014 is not responsible for the news headlines and associated descriptions and images it indexes, the content of externally linked sites or the comments & postings of its users.

This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula One group of companies. F1, FORMULA ONE, FORMULA 1, FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V.