Clicky

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BrisbaneAndy

The Weather

I have been feeling sorry for myself about the weather.

Brisbane is about 1,000km south of the Tropic of Capricorn, so the myth about a tropical climate is exactly that.

I have been burning 150kg of firewood per week.

Blouse, I hear you thinking. Well, we have had lows down to 2 degree centigrade, a 100 year low.

I felt compelled to check the weather in Sheffield, near where I lived in the UK. Lows of 12-14 and highs 20-22.

It is officially warmer in Sheffield than it is in Brisbane.errrrrr.gif

Well that'll learn you for deserting the motherland ha!

When your summer comes though you can bask in the heat whilst we, in our summertime, rejoice simply when there's no rain.

I had to desert, I am a mining engineer and it was not going to see my career out. Glad I did, though.

Summer here is different, that is when we get our rain. It comes in short bursts, torrential rain for an hour late afternoon then back to sunshine. Winter is cool, but it hardly ever rains. I put 5,000 l in the pool this afternoon from a tank, we harvest water from the roof.

It snowed in Brisbane once, for about 20 minutes, but that was before i came here.

The summer heat here is fine, but it gets punishing up north when I go there for work. Step out of the plane in Mackay and it is like being hit in the face with a hot, wet fish.

Ah so aussies may seem to have it all, with their comfortabe living and great weather and beaches, but they don't have snow...kids over there are missing out!

The Victorians have had some recently, but you have to head for a mountain for real snow. Personally, I can live without it.

It is not all beer and skittles here, mossies, sharks, crocodiles, snakes, spiders, jellyfish.

I am from Brisbane, in Corinda and its not that cold. Yes anything below 20c is cold but your not used to it yet (for this winter)?